Club History

The Willaston Football Club was formed in the year 1889 from workers at the Willaston clay pits on the North Para River.

In the early days players used to get changed under the Willaston Bridge,however in 1964 the club moved to Elliott Goodger Memorial Park which used to be a RAFF base and at a later stage a migrant hostel.

In 1977 the club moved to our present clubrooms. The oval was changed from a cow paddock into one of the best ovals in the league.


Players, members, supporters, families, and volunteers of the Willaston Football Club embrace the “Donnybrook Spirit”, which has been passed down to us since 1889 when we were founded by the local clay-pit workers of Willaston.

The strong club history is instilled within us as we all collectively strive for success.

To achieve this, we acknowledge,

Donnybrooks Spirit is to demonstrate a “one in, all in” attitude, portrayed through courage, strength and determination.

Donnybrook spirit is expressed through being honest to yourself and your teammates in all aspects of the football club.

It is a privilege to pull on the Donnybrook guernsey, as you embrace the feeling of great strength & courage to play with a never give in attitude.

Always respect yourself, teammates, club members and the opposition.

When talent fails, hard work always prevails.

Team and club success outweigh individual success.

Ensure the club is in a better position than when you arrived.

Demonstrate high morals and excellence, both on and off the field.

We do this together as players, supporters and members – One In – All In.

Success is measured in premierships and achieved as One.

Football Staff

Mens Football

Senior Football Director Damien Herzick
Senior Head Coach Andrew Jarman
Reserve Coach Grant Hemmerling
Colts Football Director Ryan Tyrrell
U17s Coach Trevor Spong
U15s Coach TBA
Head Trainer Crystal Reading

Junior Football

Junior Football Director Nigel Palk
U13 Justin Lewis & Brandon Nottle
U9 REDS Daniel Waldhuter

Womens Football

Womens Football Director Belle Gray
Senior Coach Andre Boers
U13 Bianca Williams

Committee Members

Executive Committee Members

President Aldo Pasin
Vice President Gary Watson
Treasurer Chris Moore
Secretary John Williams
Senior Football Director Damien Herzick
Child Safety Officer TBA

General Committee Members

Colts Football Director Ryan Tyrrell
Womens Football Director Belle Gray
Sponsorship Scott Cross
Operations Manager Alison White
Maintenance Geoff Rendell
Junior Footbal Director Nigel Palk
Junior Football Coordinator Jarrod Hicks
Bar Manager Amanda Prior
Patron Doug Bennett & Doug Copper


A Grade

1889, 1896, 1897, 1903, 1915 ,1928, 1930, 1933, 1935, 1937, 1939, 1941, 1946, 1947, 1948, 1961, 1972, 1978, 1980, 1985, 1988, 1999


1926, 1931, 1963, 1978, 1982, 1985, 1989, 1990, 1991

Senior Colts

1961, 1966, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1992, 1993, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2014, 2016, 2018

Junior Colt

1973, 1982, 1992, 1994, 2002, 2017

Senior Womens


Life Members

A. Hurst +
G. Treloar +
L. Kimpton +
Mrs J. King +
A. Zbierski +
R. Weaver +
E. Morgan +
R. Higgins +
Mrs M. Ward +
A. Thompson +
J. Bennett +
K. Turner +
D. Window +
L. Ward +

D.O. Hill +
R.W. Hurst +
H.R. Hurst +
E.C.G. Footer +
D. Window +
M.G. McGahan +
B.G Window
J.T. McGahan +
Mrs L.P. Duke +
S.C. Turner +
Mrs. N. Nutchins +
C. Cockshelll +
G.W. Schnaars
D. Ward +

D. Cooper
K.Jones +
A. Brooks +
R. Watson
H. Weaver
G. Siostrom
E. Gniel
M. Garnett +
R. Cockshell
R. Symes
K. Stojko
G. Hemmerling +
Mrs J. McClean

T. Lucas
A.J. Dunn
P. Skoblyk
A.J. Day
J. MacDonald
G.(GUS) Lucas +
D. Hurst
D. Bennett
R. Matz
Mrs D. Matz
P. Hemmerling
B. Nottle